Dwellers in Darkness

Arkham House

Skip to product information
1 of 3
Regular price RM25.00 MYR
Regular price Sale price RM25.00 MYR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The final collection of fantastic stories and macabre tales from the pen of August Derleth demonstrates anew this author's mastery in the realm of the uncanny. Whether on the classic theme of the vengeful revenant or on a mind-bending concept of modern science fiction, few contemporary writers could equal the deceptively casual narrative style and unerring evocation of the eerie which distinguish these tales of wonder and strangeness.

Included in this grimoire of gore are such titles as The Ghost Walk, a terrifying portrayal of psychic malignancy; The Patchwork Quilt, a grim narrative of a wish fulfilled beyond the grave; and Come to Me, a haunting parable of divine justice. Collected here too are The Passing of Eric Holm, a rare contribution to the Cthulhu Mythos published originally in Strange Stories under the pseudonym of Will Garth, and Ghost Lake, the last tale of supernatural horror which August Derleth lived to complete.

Dwellers in Darkness also includes two of the macabre mystery stories featuring Judge Peck which were chosen by the author to conclude his final collection. Since this fictional sleuth also appeared in August Derleth's first book published in 1934, Murder Stalks the Wakely Family, his long and distinguished career as a scrivener of macabre fiction thus ends as it had begun, with Judge Ephraim Peabody Peck.


Condition: Pre-loved book. Minor yellowing of pages. Otherwise in good condition.

Format: Hardcover
Year published: 1976

Pages: 203
Horror, short stories.
Imprint: Arkham House

  • Free shipping within Peninsula Malaysia. For Sabah, Sarawak and rest-of-world, zone rates will apply. See link to Shipping policy in footer.
  • Packaging: recyclable materials will be used whenever possible.
View full details